[Bambi's Homepage]

Who is Bambi?

So you are interested in me? I assume you are, as you clicked "Who is Bambi?", so I will tell a little about myself.

My life

I was born in Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands on September 22, 1973. That makes me 50 years old now. I have one brother, who is about 3.5 years younger than me. In 2004 I met a nice woman with whom I married in 2007. In 2013 we adopted a 2-year-old boy from China.

My education and work

In my home town I went to kindergarten, elementary school, primary school and secondary school. After that I went to the Delft University of Technology to study Technical Informatics.

After finishing my eduction, I started working as a software engineer, a job I still love to do.

My hobbies

I have several hobbies, but the most prolific are Disney (especially the animation), music and distance walking. You can find my movie and music collections on this site.

I started with distance walking on quite a young age, as both my parents were doing it. I made my first distance walk on October 9, 1976, when I walked a distance of 5 kilometers. Since then I have walked a grand total of 33,285 kilometers (latest walk made on May 11, 2024). The longest distance I have walked at a stretch is 160 kilometers and the longest multi-day walk I made was 300 kilometers long. I walked that distance in 4 days.

I also try to participate in the International Four Days Marches in Nijmegen yearly. So far I have participated successfully in this event 36 times. My latest successful participation was in 2023.


I also like to travel, though I'm not a real frequent traveller. Here is some information on my travel history.

View the full size travel map at Travellerspoint.
View more of my travel statistics at Travellerspoint.